Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login. New Registrations are disabled.

Notification

Icon
Error

What does a typical affidavit look like and how does one generally receive it?
EmilyBrown02
#1 Posted : Friday, February 8, 2008 8:26:59 AM(UTC)
EmilyBrown02

I'm rather new at this, but I've managed to build up my lucky list to over 100 sweeps per day! But, of course, the more I enter, the more junk mail I get spammed with. My question is, what does a "real" affidavit typically look like? I've came across so many e-mails that claim to be legit, telling me I've won something, and I get all excited, only to find out after visiting their links that it's just a scam or one promotional offer after another! The only thing I've won so far is a $10 gift card to Lowes, and it showed up as "fulfillment" and required that I do nothing but wait 6-8 weeks to receive my card via snail mail. Is this what a typical affy will look like, and will it generally come in the form of an e-mail, or do some send it in the mail? I'm tired of wasting my time reading all these discouraging junk letters!! Ugh ...

halogen
#2 Posted : Friday, February 8, 2008 9:21:00 AM(UTC)
halogen

Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)

It's a legal document, usually two or three pages.  It's a pre-typed form with empty spaces that you're suppose to fill in with your personal information.  Almost every time you'll have to have it notarized by a notary public.

Affidavits can arrive via e-mail attachment, or by way of a delivery service like FedEx or UPS.

Before opening any e-mail attachment, you should always research what the e-mail is telling you.  For instance, check out the complete e-mail address of the sender.  Then click REPLY (but don't click SEND), to see where a reply would be sent.   Google the name of the sweepstakes you're suppose to have won.  If necessary, telephone the sweepstakes sponsor to verify it.  Opening an attachment is risky, so make sure it's legit before doing do.